Letter to the Editor

Dear Editor,

Defending our Constitutional Rights

On 27-Feb-2020, the Democrat Controlled MN House passed HF 9 – Enabling law enforcement and family members to petition a court to prohibit people from possessing firearms if they pose a significant danger to themselves or others by possessing a firearm by a vote of 68-62. This is a real Red Flag Law. The Republican Controlled MN Senate referred SF436 (Senate version) to the Judiciary and Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee and therefore, has not become law – yet.  

HF 9, Section 5 allows for the “Extreme Risk Protection Order” and section 5b allows the Court to issue an Ex Parte order (an order to remove your guns within 24 hours without your prior knowledge). This can force the police to confiscate your guns for up to 14 days without due process. This means that if someone feels there is a significant danger of you harming yourself or somebody else, the Court can force the police to confiscate your guns and keep them confiscated until you prove you are not a threat and you have to pay for the storage.

As an American citizen, your RIGHT to due process – innocent until proven guilty (5th Amendment), your RIGHT to be protected from illegal search and seizure (4th Amendment), and your RIGHT to own guns (2nd Amendment) all have been violated. It is my opinion that the 2nd Amendment is our great because it prevents a tyrannical Government from eroding our other Constitutional Rights. And is why it contains the words “Shall Not Be Infringed Upon”.    

We need your support. The Sibley County 2nd Amendment Coalition met with the Sibley County Commissioners in March and they agreed to vote on our petition that Sibley County would uphold your 2nd Amendment Right granted to us in our Federal Constitution and not support the confiscation of your guns without due process. This vote was tabled due to Covid-19 and is now scheduled for Tuesday May 28th beginning at 9:00 a.m. Please contact each Sibley County Commissioner and plan to attend this vote in person (if vote is held in person) to show your support for your Constitutional Rights.

District #1:  Bobbie Harder


District #2:  Bill Pinske    



District #3:  Jim Swanson    


District #4:  Joy Cohrs    


District #5:  Steve Saxton    


Daryl Thurn

Green Isle, MN 55338


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.