After a lengthy and disturbing run of ineffectiveness against River Valley League rival Henderson, perhaps the Belle Plaine Tigers have begun to put away the so-called “Henderson Hex.” In the locals’ only contest last week, our lads handled Henderson for the third straight meeting – the previous two by just one run each – with a decisive 7-1 triumph.

As to having a lone contest last week, that is thanks to the Arlington game being postponed for the second time in three days. Wednesday, May 29, the teams will try again, as the Tigers head to Arlington at 7:30 p.m.

On Friday, the Big Grr returns home to take on the St. Peter Saints at 7:30 p.m. The promotion is RTL Construction Night, with all fans receiving a free hot dog, chips and pop, courtesy of the namesake company. The Tigers will look to turn their tassels again on Sunday when the Gaylord Islanders visit for a special noon start time.

Remember to check bptigertown.com for all things Tigers. And don’t forget to follow our social media channels: bptigertown on Twitter and Facebook.

May 24: Henderson 1, BP 7

Despite morning rainfall that saw some local teams postponing ball games by lunchtime, our striped warriors found sunshine on Friday night as they hosted Henderson. Belle Plaine fell behind 1-0 through three innings but took a 2-1 lead into the seventh before icing matters with a five-run frame.

Jared Miller got the start on the mound for the hometown Tigers and he did not disappoint, scattering three hits with eight K’s and an unearned run across seven innings. Big brother Josh Terrio came in to get the final six outs, preserving the win for his little burrheaded brother.

It wasn’t easy for the Tiger Train, as Henderson lefty Glenn Parker was a tough customer and sat down 10 via strikeout. Our growlers churned out eight hits, with Terrio belting a double and triple while collecting three RBI.

TOWN TEAM

BASEBALL SCHEDULE

2-1 in league play

4-2 overall

# = non-league game and/or doesn’t count towards

RVL ‘C’ Standings

L    Friday, May 3     

#Carver Black Sox 13, BP 2

W   Sunday, May 5     

Le Sueur Braves 3, BP 8

W   Friday, May 10    

#Hamburg Hawks 2, BP 4

W   Saturday, May 11    

#Webster Sox 0, BP 8

L    Friday, May 17     

Gaylord Islanders 9, BP 7

W   Friday, May 24    

Henderson Tigers 1, BP 7

Wednesday, May 29

Arlington A’s

Arlington - 7:30 p.m.

Friday, May 31    

St. Peter Saints

Belle Plaine - 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 2     

Gaylord Islanders

Belle Plaine -  12 p.m.

Friday, June 7     

Minnesota Lake Royals #

Tigertown Classic

Belle Plaine - 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, June 8

TBD #

Tigertown Classic

Belle Plaine -  TBD

Sunday, June 9

TBD #

Tigertown Classic

Belle Plaine - TBD

Wednesday, June 12

Lonsdale Aces #

Belle Plaine - 7:30 p.m.

Friday, June 14    

Fairfax Cardinals

Fairfax - 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, June 16     

Henderson Tigers

Henderson -  5 p.m.

Saturday, June 22    

Farming Flames #

Farming Baseball Invitational

Farming - 12 p.m.

Sunday, June 23    

TBD #

Farming Baseball Invitational

Farming - TBD    

Tuesday, June 25

Jordan Brewers

Jordan    7:30 - p.m.

Friday, June 28    

Belle Plaine Tiger Alumni

Brent Meyer Memorial /

Tiger Alumni Night

Pulled Pork Sandwiches     

Belle Plaine - 7 p.m.

Sunday, June 30

Arlington A’s

Little League Night

Belle Plaine - 6 p.m.

Tuesday, July 2     

Fairfax Cardinals

Senior Citizens Night

Ernie Stumpf Band     

Belle Plaine -  7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, July 9

St. Peter Saints

St. Peter - 7:30 p.m.

Friday, July 12    

Le Sueur Braves

Le Sueur - 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 14

Jordan Brewers

Day of Baseball /

Belle Plaine - 6 p.m.

Wednesday, July 17    

Waconia Lakers #

Waconia - 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, July 23    

Dassel-Cokato Saints #

Fan Appreciation Night

(free prizes every inning)    

Belle Plaine - 7:30 p.m.

REGION 6C PLAYOFFS

July 27-28, Aug. 3-4, 10-11

CLASS‘C’STATE TOURNEY

(Maple Lake–Delano–Dassel)

Aug. 16-18, 23-25, 30-Sept. 2

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.